Useful tips

How many years has Erdogan been president?

How many years has Erdogan been president?

Recep Tayyip Erdoğan is the 12th and current president of Turkey, who has held the office since 28 August 2014. Since 9 July 2018, Erdoğan has served as the first president under the new executive system of government. The president is directly elected by eligible Turkish voters for a five-year term, renewable once.

Who was the Turkish president before Erdogan?

List of presidents (1923–present)

No. Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
Took office
10 Ahmet Necdet Sezer (born 1941) 16 May 2000
11 Abdullah Gül (born 1950) 28 August 2007
12 Recep Tayyip Erdoğan (born 1954) 28 August 2014

Who is the current king of Turkey?

Recep Tayyip Erdoğan

His Excellency Recep Tayyip Erdoğan
Personal details
Born 26 February 1954 Kasımpaşa, Istanbul, Turkey
Political party Justice and Development Party (2001–2014; 2017–present)
Other political affiliations National Salvation Party (before 1981) Welfare Party (1983–1998) Virtue Party (1998–2001)

Who was the president after Ataturk?

He died on 10 November 1938 at Dolmabahçe Palace in Istanbul, at the age of 57; he was succeeded as President by his long-time Prime Minister İsmet İnönü and was honored with a state funeral.

When was Turkey founded?

October 29, 1923
The Treaty of Lausanne was signed on 24 July 1923. On 13 October Ankara officially became the capital of the new Turkish state. On 29 October a republic was proclaimed, with Mustafa Kemal as its first president.

When did Erdogan get power in Turkey?

The presidency of Recep Tayyip Erdoğan began when Recep Tayyip Erdoğan took the oath of office on 28 August 2014 and became the 12th president of Turkey. He administered the new Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu’s oath on 29 August.