How long does a contractor have to file a lien in NJ?

How long does a contractor have to file a lien in NJ?

within 90 days
Lien must be filed within 90 days of last providing labor or materials. On residential projects, due within 120 days but arbitration demand and award required before, which takes at least 30 days.

How do I discharge a construction lien in NJ?

Discharging a Lien Claim A claimant must file a certificate to discharge (or cancel) the construction lien with the county recording office where the original lien claim was recorded when the construction lien claim is: Paid, satisfied, or settled between the parties.

What is a construction lien law?

A construction lien is a claim made against a property by a contractor or subcontractor who has not been paid for work done on that property. Construction liens are designed to protect professionals from the risk of not being paid for services rendered.

How do I put a lien on a property in NJ?

In New Jersey, you fill out a form called a Statement for Docketing to obtain a judgment lien. A lien gives you personal interest in the property of a debtor who owes you money. Once your lien is filed, the debtor cannot sell his property with clear title unless he pays the amount owed to you.

How do I report a contractor in NJ?

Consumers who believe they have been cheated or scammed by a business, or suspect any other form of consumer abuse, can file a complaint with the State Division of Consumer Affairs by visiting its website or by calling 1-800-242-5846 (toll free within New Jersey ) or 973-504-6200.

What is the difference between a construction lien and a mechanics lien?

Additionally, construction liens have strict timing and notice requirements. “Machinery” mechanics liens are possessory liens. This means that if you drop your car off at the shop and don’t pay – the shop doesn’t have to give you your car back (provided certain requirements are met).

How long does a lien last in NJ?

20 years
How long does a judgment lien last in New Jersey? A judgment lien in New Jersey will remain attached to the debtor’s property (even if the property changes hands) for 20 years.

How long does a civil Judgement last in NJ?

Judgments in New Jersey remain in effect for 20 years and may be renewed for an additional 20 years by filing a motion in the Superior Court, Law Division, Civil Part and/or in the Special Civil Part if the Special Civil Part case was assigned a DJ or J docket number.

How do I file a complaint with the NJ labor board?

If you have questions or concerns, you can contact us at 1-866-487-9243 or visit You will be directed to the nearest WHD office for assistance.