What is the nature of Nigerian legal system?

What is the nature of Nigerian legal system?

The Constitution of Nigeria is the supreme law of the country. There are four distinct legal systems in Nigeria, which include English law, Common law, Customary law, and Sharia Law. English law in Nigeria is derived from the colonial Nigeria, while common law is a development from its post colonial independence.

What are the 5 Sources of Nigeria law?

Nigerian legislations include the Nigerian Constitution, Ordnances, Acts, Laws, Decrees etc. Note that legislation here also mean subsidiary and deligated legislation. Bother of them are laws enacted in the exercise of power conferred by a primary a law making body.

What are the main features of administrative law?

It includes law relating to the rule-making power of the administrative bodies, the quasi-judicial function of administrative agencies, legal liabilities of public authorities and power of the ordinary courts to supervise administrative authorities.

What is meant by the nature of law?

Law is an instrument which regulates human conduct/behavior. Law means Justice, Morality, Reason, Order, and Righteous from the view point of the society. Law means Rules of court, Decrees, Judgment, Orders of courts, and Injunctions from the point of view of Judges.

Who makes Nigerian law?

Legislative power is held by the federal government and the two chambers of the legislature: the house of representatives and the senate. Together, the two chambers make up the law-making body in Nigeria, called the national assembly, which serves as a check on the executive arm of government.

What is administrative law describes the nature scope and importance of administrative law?

Administrative law is that law which deals with the relationship between a country’s citizens with the government. It determines the organizational and power structure of the administration and quasi-judicial bodies to enforce the rule of law.

What is administrative law law?

Administrative law refers generally to the laws and legal principles governing the creation, administration and regulation of government agencies at the federal, state, and local levels.

What are the three 3 main branches or divisions of the government?

The Federal Government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the Federal courts, respectively.

What are branches of law?

There are five types of legal system i.e. civil law; common law; customary law; religious law and mixed law.

  • Types of law. In Indian Judicial System there are four types of law.
  • Criminal law. The Criminal law is enforced by the police.
  • Civil law.
  • Common law.
  • Statutory law.