Users' questions

What is one of the classical orders of architecture?

What is one of the classical orders of architecture?

The three major classical orders are Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian. The orders describe the form and decoration of Greek and later Roman columns, and continue to be widely used in architecture today. The Doric order is the simplest and shortest, with no decorative foot, vertical fluting, and a flared capital.

What order was the Colosseum built in?

The Colosseum, built at Rome in the 1st century ad, has four stories: on the ground level the order is Doric; on the next level it is Ionic; on the third, Corinthian; and the top story has pilasters (attached rectangular columns), also of the Corinthian order.

What are the five orders of architecture in Masonry?


  • The Fellow Craft Degree features the Five Orders of Architecture: Doric, Ionic, Corinthian, Tuscan and Composite.
  • So the question becomes: Where do the Five Orders of Architecture come from?

What are the five orders according to Sebastian serlio?

A diagram showing the five classical orders as classified by the Italian Renaissance architect Sebastiano Serlio (c. 1475-1554 CE). Left to right: Tuscan, Doric, Ionic, Corinthian and Composite. From Book IV of Serlio’s ‘Complete Works on Architecture & Perspective’.

Which of these is one of the orders of ancient Greek architecture?

There are three distinct orders in Ancient Greek architecture: Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian. These three were adopted by the Romans, who modified their capitals. The Roman adoption of the Greek orders took place in the 1st century BC.

Which of the following is a Greek architectural order with a scroll like capital?

Volutes (scroll-like ornaments) characterize the Ionic capital and a base supports the column, unlike the Doric order. The Ionic order developed in Ionia during the mid-sixth century B.C.E. and had been transmitted to mainland Greece by the fifth century B.C.E.